Memorial for a Mentor

Shortly after I was diagnosed with cancer in 2009, my pastor introduced me to Virginia, another person from church undergoing the same treatment I was. She was diagnosed in May 2009 I believe, so she was roughly six months ahead of where I was. Although I didn’t see her every Sunday, over the past year and a half we were able to share our struggles in the same cancerworld insiderish language. When last I talked to her in February, she told me that all conventional chemotherapy had failed, and now her doctors were trying all sorts of odd drug combinations to stave off the disease. Eventually she had to move to radiation to fight off brain mets. That proved to be too much, and she died March 15th. Obituary here.

Thank you Virginia, for being there.

Leave a Reply

