Proud to be a Virginian, Not so Proud to be Pro Life

Proud for Bob McDonnell’s double digit victory on Tuesday. McDonnell is sort of a friend-of-a-friend you could say.

Proud for Rep. Eric Cantor (R-VA), House Republican Whip, who criticized some Tea Partiers who were holding signs comparing health care reform with Dachau at a protest on Friday. In an interview with Bloomberg, he also took issue with Rush Limbaugh for comparing the health care reform logo with a swastika and comparing Hitler with Obama, saying they both “ruled by dictate.” “Do I condone the mention of Hitler in any discussion about politics?” Cantor said. “No, I don’t, because obviously that is something that conjures up images that frankly are not, I think, very helpful.” The only Jewish Republican in the House gets that a massive government reform bill isn’t the same thing as gassing 6 million people and ruling by fear and intimidation. I hope other Republicans get the message and tone down the rhetoric.

On a related note, I was on the Hill on Thursday. I didn’t see the Tea Partiers, but I did run into a small “pro-life” protest by the RNC headquarters and Congressional office buildings. I put “pro life” in quotes because what I saw was appalling, macabre, and completely inappropriate. As I and a gaggle of tourists came up from the subway, we were greeted by a half dozen people dressed up as Death, some of whom held giant posters of chopped up baby fetuses. That’s right, chopped up babies right there on the street. I can’t imagine how the same people would feel if anti-war activists walked around with pictures of half blown-up soldiers. I felt sorry for the tourists and their children for being exposed to such a display. Two of the Deaths held chains connected to “Harry Reid” and “Nancy Pelosi,” covered in blood, and hurled insults at them while they wailed and gnashed their teeth, so to speak. I’m pro life, but I couldn’t get out of there and to the office fast enough.

Maybe I’m just sensitive. Sure, the last thing a cancer patient needs to see is a half dozen Deaths waiting at the top of the Metro escalator. But still, this struck me as complete wrong and inappropriate. We’re the pro-life movement for Pete’s sake–we have cute, innocent, premature BABIES on our side. Our protests should be Hallmark cards, not some macabre preview of Saw 12.

Leave a Reply

