Another Author Who Gets It

Donald Miller. In the past couple weeks, I’ve read both his Blue like Jazz and Searching for God Knows What. The former is a sort of meditation on Miller’s spiritual life so far (he’s in his early 30s) while the latter is a Christian apologetic told by narrative rather than by theories or “spiritual laws.” Miller has a lot of credibility in the so-called emerging church movement for this narrative approach (and probably for his decidedly left wing politics), but his beliefs themselves come across as pretty standard conservative evangelical Christian, which I was a little surprised by. There’s a lot of raw meat in the books for the internet’s theology attack dogs to tear apart, some of it pretty easily, but the books resonated with me. A notable quote from Blue like Jazz:

My most recent faith struggle is not one of intellect. I don’t really do that anymore. Sooner or later you just figure out there are some guys who don’t believe in God and they can prove He doesn’t exist, and some other guys who do believe in God and they can prove He does exist, and the argument stopped being about God a long time ago and now it’s about who is smarter, and honestly I don’t care. I don’t believe I will ever walk away from God for intellectual reasons. Who knows anything anyway?

The older I get, the less I can be bothered with arcane discussions about theology, politics, or anything really. Life is not lived in trivia. Show me how your faith affects the way you live, show me that your beliefs produce tangible good in this world, and you’re closer to fine in my book. Mind you, I’m not saying throw out the creeds here; I’m saying, theological shooting matches about things not relating to our ultimate fate usually do more harm than good and I have little time for them anymore. That old quote “in essentials, unity; in doubtful matters, liberty; in all things, charity” has a lot of wisdom.

0 responses to “Another Author Who Gets It

  1. Pingback: Olde Frothingblog » Blog Archive » Libraries Rule

  2. Pingback: Olde Frothingblog » Blog Archive » The Books of 2007

Leave a Reply

